Antonio Iturbe – Librarian of Auschwitz, The [Shelves:40.0]

10,00 

Brak w magazynie

SKU: 9781529104776 Kategorie: ,

Opis

Stan: Książka używana posiadająca normalne ślady użytkowania. Może zawierać dedykację lub być podpisana. Zdjęcia okładek zamieszczone na stronie są jedynie poglądowe, a wydanie może się różnić. Jeżeli chcesz otrzymać zdjęcie przedstawiające stan książki skontaktuj się z nami
Condition: The book is used and has signs of normal use. Might contain a dedication or be signed. The photos presented are for exemplary purposes only – The edition of the book might be different To obtain a real picture please contact us.
Autor/Author: Antonio Iturbe
Tytuł/Title: Librarian of Auschwitz, The
ISBN: 9781529104776
Data wydania/Publish date: 2019-04-04
Wydawnictwo/Publisher: Ebury Press
Liczba stron/Number of pages: 448


For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Choice: this is story of the smallest library in the world – and the most dangerous. 'It wasn’t an extensive library. In fact, it consisted of eight books and some of them were in poor condition. But they were books. In this incredibly dark place, they were a reminder of less sombre times, when words rang out more loudly than machine guns…’ Fourteen-year-old Dita is one of the many imprisoned by the Nazis at Auschwitz. Taken, along with her mother and father, from the Terezín ghetto in Prague, Dita is adjusting to the constant terror that is life in the camp. When Jewish leader Freddy Hirsch asks Dita to take charge of the eight precious volumes the prisoners have managed to smuggle past the guards, she agrees. And so Dita becomes the secret librarian of Auschwitz, responsible for the safekeeping of the small collection of titles, as well as the 'living books’ – prisoners of Auschwitz who know certain books so well, they too can be 'borrowed’ to educate the children in the camp. But books are extremely dangerous. They make people think. And nowhere are they more dangerous than in Block 31 of Auschwitz, the children’s block, where the slightest transgression can result in execution, no matter how young the transgressor…

Opinie

Na razie nie ma opinii o produkcie.

Napisz pierwszą opinię o „Antonio Iturbe – Librarian of Auschwitz, The [Shelves:40.0]”

Twój adres e-mail nie zostanie opublikowany.